Register to reply

Gyroscope experiments

by starlet
Tags: gyroscopes
Share this thread:
starlet
Nov28-08, 11:21 AM
P: 5
I need to do experiments to investigate the behaviour of gyroscopes but I'm not too sure what I can do.I've thought I can use a bicycle wheel and string to demonstrate precession, but I need experiments which I can take recordings down from.

Thanks for any help!
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Experts defend operational earthquake forecasting, counter critiques
EU urged to convert TV frequencies to mobile broadband
Sierra Nevada freshwater runoff could drop 26 percent by 2100
horatio89
Nov28-08, 11:51 AM
P: 102
Hello Starlet,
This is my first time posting, so forgive me if I sound a little inexperienced. Ok, here we go...

The angular speed of precession can be found from the equation: speed = (wr)/(I* \omega) where r is the distance of the wheel from the pivot, w is the weight of the wheel, I is the moment of inertia of the wheel about the axis, and \omega is the angular speed of the wheel.

The bicycle wheel mounted on an axle connected to a free pivot should be sufficient to investigate the behaviour of gyroscopes

The dependent variable, the angular speed of the gyroscope's precession can be found simply by timing the period of one revolution of the gyroscope system.

From the equation, there are several independent variables which one can consider, which I will leave to you to consider yourself.

Regards,
Horatio
starlet
Nov28-08, 05:52 PM
Ahhhh, I see. I'll have a look in my textbooks about this equation. We haven't done this yet. I'll have a good read about it then and on the internet too. I'll more than likely be back again within the next few days asking more questions about it...so watch out!

Thanks a lot for your help!

starlet
Nov30-08, 12:28 PM
Gyroscope experiments