Basic Mechanics Questions

by Cummings
Tags: basic, mechanics
Cummings
Jun21-03, 11:33 PM
P: 56
I am upto Motion in my studies, but the last time i studied it was a year ago and i am trying to get into swing of it again.

2 question that bug me at the moment.

A plane is flying due south at 100m/s on an initially still day. Then a crosswind with a velocity of 25m/s towards the west beings to blow.
- What is the velocity of the plane under the influence of this crosswind?
- In which direction should the pilot steer the plane to maintain a velovity of 100m/s south?

I used a simple vector sum:
vplane = 100
vair = 25
vsum = square root((vplane^2)+(vair^2))
i got vsum = 103.08m/s

and the direction is South 14Degrees West.

I think thats right, the answer states its 10^3 ..but i think they accidentely put the 3 as a power. 10^3 not 103

A car travelling with a constant speed of 80 km/h passes a stationary motercycle policeman. The policeman sets off in pursuit, acceserating to 80km/h in 10s and reaching a contstant speed of 100km/h after a further 5s. At what time will the policeman catchup with the car?

This question really made me think of last years studies, but i couldnt get my head around it. After the 15 seconds i can find out how far the car and policemen have traveled, but cant figure it out further.

Thanks for your time,
Cummings
Cummings@softhome.net
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
NASA's space station Robonaut finally getting legs
Free the seed: OSSI nurtures growing plants without patent barriers
Going nuts? Turkey looks to pistachios to heat new eco-city
STAii
Jun22-03, 05:22 AM
P: 353
I will go for question 2.
First of all, i will assume that the acceleration in the first 10 seconds is constant, and that it is also constant (but not with the same value) in the next 5 seconds.
You said you can figure out how far the policeman and car went after the first 15 seconds.