Register to reply

Importance of communication skills to an engineer?

Share this thread:
rafehi
Jul1-09, 08:49 PM
P: 49
I'm a second year engineering student and as part of my course, am required to do one subject per semester not related to engineering/science/mathematics. First semester I did International Politics and I'm enrolled for another politics subject sem 2, but I've been thinking about changing that to Organisational Behaviour. I won't lie - my communication skills aren't my strongest point but 3 or 4 years down the line, would I benefit much from having gone the OB route?

I'm not exactly sure what Organisational Behaviour entails but it's really my only option in semester 2. The subject overview is:
This subject will provide an introduction to basic individual and group processes, as they affect people in organisations. Major theories and models in key areas of organisational behaviour will be examined; including group dynamics, motivation, stress, communication, conflict, power, strategy, structure and change management. Tutorials will emphasise the application of theories, through the use of exercises and case studies.

Again, would this subject be relevant and worthwhile for a prospective engineer?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
World's largest solar boat on Greek prehistoric mission
Google searches hold key to future market crashes
Mineral magic? Common mineral capable of making and breaking bonds
negitron
Jul1-09, 09:01 PM
Sci Advisor
P: 842
Might help you in terms of pursuing an engineering management position, such as a project manager. But, I can't see it as very helpful to an entry-level engineering position. Nevertheless, you'll certainly want to look into ways to improve your communication skills since good, clear communication is very import to general success in any professional environment, including (and perhaps even especially) engineering.
Dr Transport
Jul1-09, 09:19 PM
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 1,469