Register to reply

So, I got my Diff. Eq. books today.

by Shackleford
Tags: books, diff
Share this thread:
Shackleford
Aug4-09, 02:46 PM
P: 1,534
I got the textbook, solutions manual, and a book called ODE using Matlab. I've never used Matlab before. Will that be an issue?

Here's the textbook. Is this a good book?

http://www.amazon.com/Differential-E...9415070&sr=8-1
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Fungus deadly to AIDS patients found to grow on trees
Canola genome sequence reveals evolutionary 'love triangle'
Scientists uncover clues to role of magnetism in iron-based superconductors
Landau
Aug4-09, 03:47 PM
Sci Advisor
P: 905
Isn't that a little late to ask? Personally I think it is too verbose, but the explanations are pretty clear in general. Not that hard.
Shackleford
Aug4-09, 04:42 PM
Quote Quote by Landau View Post
Isn't that a little late to ask? Personally I think it is too verbose, but the explanations are pretty clear in general. Not that hard.
Why would it be too late? This the only DE class offered this semester and I have to take it this semester to graduate on my timetable. I'm just wondering if it's a good book or not. That's all.

What about Matlab? Will I have any problem with that?

vociferous
Aug4-09, 04:52 PM
P: 256
So, I got my Diff. Eq. books today.

Quote Quote by Shackleford View Post

What about Matlab? Will I have any problem with that?
If you have ever done any programming before (especially structured programming), you should be fine.

If you have not, you should still be fine; you just might have to spend some extra time learning the basics of coding.
Shackleford
Aug4-09, 05:05 PM
Quote Quote by vociferous View Post
If you have ever done any programming before (especially structured programming), you should be fine.

If you have not, you should still be fine; you just might have to spend some extra time learning the basics of coding.
I know a little bit of HTML. lol. But that's coding not programming.
vociferous