Pinball Physics

by jasmine89
Tags: physics, pinball
jasmine89
Oct22-09, 06:29 AM
P: 5
Plz , Help me ... I have a project in the college ... I'm an IT student ...
I'm really tired of searching in the Net and books ... and yet I can find anything ...
I need to find physics for the motion of the pinball ...
I need Equations which i can explain and understand ... plz help me ....
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
NASA's space station Robonaut finally getting legs
Free the seed: OSSI nurtures growing plants without patent barriers
Going nuts? Turkey looks to pistachios to heat new eco-city
Dadface
Oct22-09, 07:20 AM
PF Gold
P: 2,002
Hello jasmine there is a lot of physics involved including kinetic energy and elastic and gravitational potential energy energy.You will also need some knowledge of Newtons laws and collisions.I tried gooling "physics of the pinball machine" and lots of hits came up including this thread.I suggest that you do the same,extract any information that may be useful,put it all together and if you have any difficulties come back here.There may be people who can help.
jasmine89
Oct22-09, 08:36 AM
Tnx , I dunno if I will find rules and equations in these pages about the rackets i mean the two pieces at the bottom of the game .... some people told me when they meet the ball it's Collision , and others called it throwing ...
and I'm so cofused & dunno which is the right !!! 'cos they say it's not a throwing (I dunno what it's called in physics :( ) because the ball moves on a background, so it can't be throwing ...
so If any one can give me the equations with a little explaination i'll be so thankfull

Dadface
Oct22-09, 09:01 AM
PF Gold

Pinball Physics

A rackets meeting a ball is best described as a collision and the physics of collisions can be quantified by Newtons laws of motion.Try searching "impulse and momentum change" and this should give you the information you need.
jasmine89
Oct22-09, 09:14 AM