Best Calculus book for self-study

by Bassir
Tags: book, calculus, selfstudy
Bassir
Nov6-09, 04:12 PM
P: 24
I'm currently in high school and would like to get a better understanding of Physics as well as Calculus, as I have no experience with either precalculus or calculus, and I really want to self study it.

What books do you recommend for learning calculus on your own?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
SensaBubble: It's a bubble, but not as we know it (w/ video)
The hemihelix: Scientists discover a new shape using rubber bands (w/ video)
Microbes provide insights into evolution of human language
stewartcs
Nov6-09, 04:16 PM
Sci Advisor
P: 2,283
Quote Quote by Bassir View Post
I'm currently in high school and would like to get a better understanding of Physics as well as Calculus, as I have no experience with either precalculus or calculus, and I really want to self study it.

What books do you recommend for learning calculus on your own?
I would recommend studying Precalculus/Trigonometry before attempting Calculus.

However, I am a fan of James Stewart's Calculus books.

CS
Bassir
Nov6-09, 04:19 PM
Quote Quote by stewartcs View Post
I would recommend studying Precalculus/Trigonometry before attempting Calculus.

However, I am a fan of James Stewart's Calculus books.

CS
I'm currently taking trigonometry.

Do you have any books you can recommend for learning precalculus all the way up to calculus?

DarrenM
Nov6-09, 05:03 PM
P: 81

Best Calculus book for self-study

Trigonometry is Precalculus; or rather, it's part of it. Precalculus is part algebra and part trigonometry. For example, Georgia Tech's Precalculus course description says:

Analytic geometry, the function concept, polynomials, exponential, logarithms, trigonometric functions, mathematical induction, the theory of equations.