Register to reply

What Propels Photons to c?

by sk3ptic76
Tags: photons, propels
Share this thread:
sk3ptic76
Feb4-10, 01:21 PM
P: 5
I am a student currently doing astrophyics as a independent study at a high school. My question is related to photon "birthing". When an atom drops from a high energy to a low energy state it releases photons. When these photons are "created" what propels them to c? I am quite aware that photons do not accelerate as they do not have mass. But what allows photons to achieve that instantaneous speed of light with no acceleration and break out of the electron cloud of the atom?
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Physicists discuss quantum pigeonhole principle
First in-situ images of void collapse in explosives
The first supercomputer simulations of 'spin?orbit' forces between neutrons and protons in an atomic nucleus
Rajini
Feb4-10, 01:37 PM
P: 600
I guess it is the nature of photons..[but its velocity is very close to c]
arivero
Feb4-10, 03:01 PM
PF Gold
P: 2,892
Wrong question. Read Lucretius, he already notices it. The problem is what makes all the other matter to go slower.

turin
Feb4-10, 07:10 PM
HW Helper
P: 2,327
What Propels Photons to c?

A photon is an excited mode of electromagnetism. As a very simplified analogy, think of the electromagnetic field as a violin string, the excited atom as the string being pulled on, and the emission of the photon as the release of the string. Don't read too much into that analogy, though. The idea is that the photon is a quantity of disturbance (as are all particles, supposedly); it is not a literal tiny dot that flies out of the atom.
bapowell
Feb4-10, 08:01 PM
Sci Advisor
P: 1,676