Register to reply

Self taught trig

by Krazie
Tags: taught, trig
Share this thread:
Krazie
Sep23-04, 06:19 PM
P: n/a
Would it be possible to buy a trig text book and read it straight through and teach myself? Do people do this? I know that it is very hard to teach yourself calculus, but isn't trig much easier to teach yourself?
Phys.Org News Partner Mathematics news on Phys.org
Heat distributions help researchers to understand curved space
Professor quantifies how 'one thing leads to another'
Team announces construction of a formal computer-verified proof of the Kepler conjecture
Tom McCurdy
Sep23-04, 06:23 PM
P: 1,113
SOH
CAH
TOA

there I taught you trig
lol, jk

I do believe it is possible to teach yourself trig, although like with anything it will take practice and dedication

However the basic applications of trig should be very easy to pick up-- of course in hindsight i guess most things seems easy once you know them

If you have any questions about trig just ask and I will see what i can do
Krazie
Sep23-04, 07:11 PM
Thanks for the advice tom. I actually have been reading this book called Trigonometry Demystified, from the Demystified series(similiar to For Dummies, and Complete Idiots Guide). It is a self teaching guide. I am two chapters into it and it is pretty easy. But I don't think that I am learning everything that I should. I want to buy a college text book and read it straight through. Do you think that would be better than this Demystefied book?
Next semester I am taking a College Algebra and Trig combination class, but I am afraid that I will not learn everything that I need to know, about the trig. I have a feeling that the class will be mostly college algebra with a little trig. I already know most of college algebra now, but I have to take that class to get the credit. I just really want to be ready for calculus. I take calculus 1 this summer.

Integral
Sep23-04, 07:28 PM
Mentor
P: 7,320
Self taught trig