Relationship with a Christian

by pergradus
Tags: christian, relationship
pergradus
Apr19-11, 11:19 PM
P: 156
So I'm a physics student, obviously I don't believe in God or religion, and I can be pretty hostile towards it at times.

I recently met a girl who I'm pretty into, but she's deeply christian. I plan on "telling her how I feel" tomorrow, but I'm just wondering... do you think a lasting relationship between a physicist and a christian is possible? I mean, we have completely incompatible world views... but does that really matter?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Cougars' diverse diet helped them survive the Pleistocene mass extinction
Cyber risks can cause disruption on scale of 2008 crisis, study says
Mantis shrimp stronger than airplanes
Pengwuino
Apr19-11, 11:20 PM
PF Gold
P: 7,125
Probably, but you'll never know until you try it out.
pergradus
Apr19-11, 11:27 PM
Well I definitely plan on trying (if she doesn't reject me, but I'm pretty sure she's into me too). What kind of issues could you imagine would come up?

Evo
Apr19-11, 11:31 PM
Mentor
P: 25,959

Relationship with a Christian

Quote Quote by pergradus View Post
Well I definitely plan on trying (if she doesn't reject me, but I'm pretty sure she's into me too). What kind of issues could you imagine would come up?
She might expect you to convert. If she's a devout Christian, she will assume she is right and that you need to be saved.

Someone that is "deeply christian" as you described wont rest until you are "saved".

Either you give up what you believe or you give in. If she believed in a god, but didn't attend church, or not often, and didn't care that much, you'd be ok.

Good luck.
jhae2.718
Apr19-11, 11:32 PM
PF Gold
P: 1,153
Quote Quote by evo View Post
someone that is "deeply christian" as you described wont rest until you are "saved".
ctrl + s ?
Pengwuino
Apr19-11, 11:35 PM
PF Gold
P: 7,125