Register to reply

Masters in Health Physics and Job Prospects

Share this thread:
Leopoldo
Jun11-11, 08:03 PM
P: 3
I'm an undergraduate biomedical physics major going into my senior year. I've been really interested in going the medical physics route, but was only interested in doing that for two years to get my master's rather than Ph.D. Now with all the CAMPEP accreditation and residency stuff, I've learned that it's really tough for a master's student to get residency (it makes sense, all the hospitals are going to hire a Ph.D student over an MP student).

This field is super interesting to me and I'm exploring other Master's programs. The only thing is that in doing my research, I've hardly found out anything about a Master's in Health Physics. What does this degree get you? As in, can you work right away and what kind of jobs can you have with this degree? I know that you have to have 6 years of professional experience before you can become a CHP, but then where were you working at in the first place? Also, wouldn't jobs always hire a CHP over someone who doesn't have it? Or is there a significant pay scale that makes up for this certified difference? I haven't found anything about a Ph.D in health physics, is that an option (all I have found are master's programs...)? Also, do most people get their CHP?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
What lit up the universe?
Sheepdogs use just two simple rules to round up large herds of sheep
Animals first flex their muscles
Choppy
Jun11-11, 10:52 PM
Sci Advisor
P: 2,714
The most directly related professional position, would be that of a radiation safety officer, or (rather obviously) a health physicist. These people work in radiation therapy hospitals, nuclear plants, radioisotope production facilities, government regulatory agencies, as independent consultants, etc.