Register to reply

Are unrelated AP classes worth it?

by -Doug-
Tags: classes, unrelated
Share this thread:
-Doug-
Aug13-11, 08:33 AM
P: 3
Hey, I'm a high school student going into my junior year and I've been wondering whether it's in my best interest to take AP courses unrelated to the major I want to go into.

Basically, at this point I'm quite sure that I want to major in either Electrical Engineering or Computer Science, and I'd like to get into a nice college. My school doesn't offer a whole lot of choice when it comes to AP classes related to math and science. In fact, the only math/science AP classes my school currently offers are AP Calc AB and AP Stats. I'm definitely going to be taking AP Calc AB this year and I'm sure I will enjoy it. I only wish my school offered AP Physics and the likes...

The issue I'm having is that I'm trying to decide whether or not it's worth it for me to take classes like AP English Literature & AP US History. I already took AP World History my sophomore year. Will these classes affect my chances much of getting into a good school for EE or CS? I know quite well that I can take these classes and get relatively good grades, but I also know quite well that I will hate myself for it because I really won't enjoy it. I'd much rather be able to enjoy the year rather then dread it, if it's possible.

Taking AP English Lit & AP US will definitely take up a lot of the free time that I spend working on stuff like programming and toying with electronics and what not. The kind of stuff that I enjoy more than anything else.

Also, my school is a "magnet" school and I'm in the magnet known as "ECC" (Electronics and Computer Circuitry) which is basically a mash up of some EE, some CS, and other computer related topics. I get high grades in just about all of my classes, especially those math/science related.

Is it worth it?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Law changed to allow 'unlocking' cellphones