Introduction to Mainfolds Help

by mundo44
Tags: introduction, mainfolds
mundo44
Aug24-11, 10:37 PM
P: 5
I am taking a class on Manifolds and whilst reading the book I came about some terminology that has got me confused.

What is the differences/relations between these terms?

Euclidian Space
Topological Space
Metric Space
Vector Space

I thought that a vector space was based on the premise that each coordinate described by its values are of an Euclidian Space, but the book I am reading acts as though they are completely two different things. Also, the other terms are used in Differential Geometry and I have no experience with them. So could you guys clarify, I would appreciate it a lot! :)
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
SensaBubble: It's a bubble, but not as we know it (w/ video)
The hemihelix: Scientists discover a new shape using rubber bands (w/ video)
Microbes provide insights into evolution of human language
Fredrik
Aug25-11, 03:41 AM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 9,017
Quote Quote by mundo44 View Post
I am taking a class on Manifolds and whilst reading the book I came about some terminology that has got me confused.

What is the differences/relations between these terms?

Euclidian Space
Topological Space
Metric Space
Vector Space

I thought that a vector space was based on the premise that each coordinate described by its values are of an Euclidian Space, but the book I am reading acts as though they are completely two different things. Also, the other terms are used in Differential Geometry and I have no experience with them. So could you guys clarify, I would appreciate it a lot! :)
I suggest Wikipedia for the exact definitions.