Register to reply

Here it comes... Need some general advice on presenting physics ideas

by Frogeyedpeas
Tags: dark matter, high school, physics, presentation
Share this thread:
Frogeyedpeas
Oct21-11, 01:12 PM
P: 80
Hello everyone, I am a high school student and am attending the Rutgers ASI general information meeting this coming sunday,

I have (unrelated to the program) been writing an idea on solving some amount of dark matter mass through the use of topology and GR and my physics teacher likes my idea so much that he has scheduled me to present my ideas in front of a group of professors at the meeting.

That being said I have never formally presented a science theory, let alone in a professional setting such as this so I would be willing to ask for as much advice as you can give me when it comes to this sort of thing. My background education is as follows:

No formal physics training (at all) however I have self studied and learned quite a bit on my own and can deal with SR and GR both conceptually as well as mathematically...

Mathematics education is multivariable calculus, partial differential equations, some linear algebra, a good intuitive understanding of topology (no formal training)

So i'm probably the least qualified student to speak and theorize on the topic yet I find that I am very confident on the correctness of what I have written. In terms of presenting I have presented all sorts of things before but never have I done something so (real) I suppose.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Sapphire talk enlivens guesswork over iPhone 6
Geneticists offer clues to better rice, tomato crops
UConn makes 3-D copies of antique instrument parts
twofish-quant
Oct21-11, 01:28 PM
P: 6,863
Quote Quote by Frogeyedpeas View Post