Newton's 3rd Law - action/reaction pairs

by jamesnb
Tags: action or reaction, newton, pairs
Share this thread:
jamesnb
Oct25-11, 11:06 PM
P: 37
1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
I'm a high school physics teacher and the following was a question on a work sheet. I don't really like the question and I'm not certain the the answer is correct.
"A ball hangs from a string being pulled down by gravity. If the action force is Earth’s gravity
pull on the ball, the reaction force (Newton’s third law force) is
a. the string force on the ball.
b. the ball force on the string.
c. the force holding the string from above.
d. the ball’s gravity pull on the Earth."

2. Relevant equations

The key says the answer is D. We haven't covered Universal Gravitation yet and I don't really see it as relevant because the ball isn't levitating.

3. The attempt at a solution

I'm more inclined to say the answer is the tension on the string or the force on what ever the string is tied.
Am I missing something or is this just a bad question? Thanks.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Scientists develop 'electronic nose' for rapid detection of C. diff infection
Why plants in the office make us more productive
Tesla Motors dealing as states play factory poker
Andrew Mason
Oct25-11, 11:44 PM
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
P: 6,679
Quote Quote by jamesnb View Post
I'm a high school physics teacher and the following was a question on a work sheet. I don't really like the question and I'm not certain the the answer is correct.
"A ball hangs from a string being pulled down by gravity. If the action force is Earth’s gravity

2. Relevant equations

The key says the answer is D. We haven't covered Universal Gravitation yet and I don't really see it as relevant because the ball isn't levitating.

I'm more inclined to say the answer is the tension on the string or the force on what ever the string is tied.
The correct answer is d.