Pursuing a Career In Engineering

by sqrt(-1)<3PF
Tags: engineering career
sqrt(-1)<3PF
Feb12-12, 07:23 PM
P: 3
I am in my final year of high school and registered in engineering for post secondary. I highly enjoyed all the sciences offered in school and I also have a high aptitude and interest in English. Initially, I wasn't talented at math, but I worked very hard. Now in grade 12, I got my first A in math, and also aced AP physics (as well as AP English literature). What has driven me is my desire to understand the deeper meaning of reality -- I am rather philosophical.

Anyways, here's my dilemma: what career do I choose?
I never thought being well-rounded would be such a pain.

I am interested in Engineering because it is structured around physics, and, although I highly appreciate and respect all the sciences, I have deduced physics to be the most fundamental way to explain the interactions we observe. However, I am under the impression that engineering sparsely delves into the "why" of how the universe operates, and is simply a mechanical, calculating, methodical way of applying rules that are only understood to a rather limited extent. Now, I understand that becoming a physicist seems an obvious path for me, but I am not so sure. I am an active and physical individual. A career as a physicist, to me, evokes images of stagnant desk-life and countless hunched-over hours of abstract research and studying. I would rather make something and watch it do things. I would rather use my skills to directly contribute to society.

So here's my question: Do you think that I, being deeply inspired by the answer of "why," could have a satisfying career in engineering, which is, to what I've gathered, centralized around the application of "how?"

Is understanding "why" not the best way to understand "how?"

And money doesn't buy happiness, but it's sure as hell conducive to it.

Thanks.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org