Computer Engineering or Computer Science Major?

by Computerwiz
Tags: college advice, computer, computer engineering, computer science
Computerwiz
Mar15-13, 11:32 AM
P: 1
Hello,

I am a Freshman in College as of right now, and I am looking to decide on a major. I am extremely interested in computers, this includes: how they work, finding new things to do with them, and learning how to develop new software. However, I am not the best at math, if I really study hard, i can learn to understand it, but it does not come naturally. This frustrates me because obviously computer science and computer engineering both greatly involve math. Should I go for it and just work on my math? If so, should I major in computer science or computer engineering. Also, which of these would be better for me in my situation and which would give me a better future?
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
Fiber-optic microscope will help physicians detect cancer, diseases at early stages
Wind tunnel tests support improved aerodynamic design of B61-12 bomb
Smart sensor technology to combat indoor air pollution
countzander
Mar29-13, 02:04 PM
P: 15
Computer engineering.
timthereaper
Apr1-13, 09:30 AM
P: 341
The difference really comes down to hardware vs. software. Computer engineers deal with the hardware side and computer scientists deal with the software side. Naturally, there is a bit of overlap because you can't really do one without understanding the other to a certain degree.

Having said that, my personal bias is toward computer engineering. You can learn a lot of the computer science concepts by reading the huge amount of published material out there and still have a good foundation as far as hardware goes. Sure, it might take you a good while to get to the same knowledge level as a CS graduate, but you'd have the added benefit of being a computer engineer. With regard to jobs, you'll be able to find work doing either of them.