Can a black hole form using only photons - in theory?

In summary, a black hole can be created using radiation (photons) if you have a sufficient amount of energy in the center-of-momentum frame. This is a huge amount of energy - for reference, the mass of the Earth is about 6*10^24 kg.
cybernomad
(Still a newbie here so pardon my naivety.)

Now if possible, this question asks what’s the minimum mass-energy required and if you like, for a black-hole that exists at least 1 second.

If not possible why?

Also a side question. Can 2 or more photons occupy the same space?

Physics news on Phys.org
You can form a black hole using only radiation (photons) if you have a sufficient amount of energy in the center-of-momentum frame.

A beam of radiation propagating in a single direction (or a single photon, no matter how high its energy) will not form a black hole.

However, a collection of radiation from all directions, focused onto a spot in space, could theoretically form a black hole.

If you are using visible light, the smallest black hole you could make would have a Schwarzschild radius of something near the wavelength of the light used to form it. (This is just a rough approximation). Since R= 2M (in geometric units), the mass would be R/2 * (c^2/G) in standard units.

Taking R to be .5 micron, we get 3*10^20 kg, multiplying by C^2 this is 3*10^37 joules.

This is an enormous amount of energy - for reference, the mass of the Earth is about 6*10^24 kg.

I'd have to look up the evaporation formulas to figure out the lifetime.

Could you theoreticaly use lasers to creat a standing waves capable of creating many consecutive balck holes?

pervect said:
A beam of radiation propagating in a single direction (or a single photon, no matter how high its energy) will not form a black hole.

why s that?

pervect said: