The Partitioning of Kinetic Energy

In summary, the conversation discusses the partitioning of kinetic energy between rotational and translational modes, specifically in regards to bullets and their spinning motion. The question arises about whether the energy put into spinning the bullet takes away from the energy used for translation and therefore affects the distance traveled by the bullet. The answer is that while some energy is lost through spinning, it is compensated for by the increased stability and accuracy of the bullet. The equation for rotational energy is also mentioned.
In_Development
The Partitioning of Kinetic Energy Between the Rotational and Translational Modes​

Alright, I'm a student studying for the International Baccalaureate and that's my title for my extended essay (a 4000 word long essay). Don't worry, I won't be pestering everybody too often as most of my research will be carried out in the laboratory, but to get me started I'd like just a little help.

First off, could someone give me any simple equations with relevance to rotational kinetic energy? It doesn't matter too much, I'll be sure to find them on my own, and I don't need them for any immediate purpose (though I will later for reference to my results). It would help though : )

Secondly, an interesting question I thought up while planning: Bullets and spinning - I know that a spin is put on bullets in order to stabilise them, but doesn't this mean that a greater quantity of the initial launch energy goes towards spinning the bullet and therefore the energy that goes into translation is less? Wouldn't this mean that the distance traveled by the bullet is less than it could be?

I'm sure the answer is something quite simple, but I can't seem to grasp it...

Also, don't worry too much if my knowledge in the area seems quite limited and the situation dire... I learn very fast.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org