jobs with an associates in math/science

by matticus
Tags: associates, jobs, math or science
matticus
Sep16-07, 09:23 AM
P: 107
right now i work as a cashier at home depot, and i feel like i can do better for a part time job. does anyone have advice for the type of job i can get with an associates in math/science while still in school.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
SensaBubble: It's a bubble, but not as we know it (w/ video)
The hemihelix: Scientists discover a new shape using rubber bands (w/ video)
Microbes provide insights into evolution of human language
huckmank
Sep16-07, 10:49 AM
P: 101
I know that the community college in my city (Austin) hires tutors for its learning lab at about $11 an hour. Once you get comfortable tutoring in that environment (with backup from other tutors) you can then try tutoring one on one for $15-20 an hour. This also has the benefit of increasing your math skills.

You also might look around and see if you have a Kaplan or Princeton Review in your town and work for them as a teacher for improving standardized test scores (you have to score pretty high on standardized tests for this gig). I've heard this job pays ~$20 an hour.
tacosareveryyum
Sep16-07, 02:32 PM
P: 44
Unfortunately an associates degree does not qualify you for much. Classes like freshman physics and Calculus 1-3 only touch the tip of the iceberg.

mr_coffee
Sep16-07, 06:39 PM
P: 1,629

jobs with an associates in math/science

matticus,

If your good at programming/web technologies you can make some pretty nice $$$ but with just math/science your best bet is tutoring.
bhimberg
Sep16-07, 06:47 PM
P: 19