the equation of a plane perpendicular to a vector and passing through a given point?

by starsiege
Tags: equation, passing, perpendicular, plane, point, vector
starsiege
Mar2-08, 01:37 AM
P: 6
Hey guys; im studying calculus and i came across a problem for which the book does not have an answer...

how do i find the equation of a plane perpendicular to vector (2i+3j+4k) and passing though
the point (1,2,3)

^^the numbers are some i just made up and no this is not a homework q....in fact i would be glad if any of you can kindly explain to me how this problem can be solved and/or if they can give me the link to some webpage where they have stuff about this

Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Going nuts? Turkey looks to pistachios to heat new eco-city
Space-tested fluid flow concept advances infectious disease diagnoses
SpaceX launches supplies to space station (Update)
Dmak
Mar2-08, 01:54 AM
P: 15
The scalar product or dot product, allows you to tell if two vectors are orthogonal or perpendicular among other things. So if you can visualize that the vector [tex] (2, 3, 4)^{T} [/tex] must be orthogonal to every point in the plane then the plane through the origin with normal vector [tex] (2, 3, 4)^{T} [/tex] would be given by the equation [tex] 2x + 3y +4z = 0 [/tex]. This is evident because [tex] (2, 3, 4) \bullet ( x, y, z )^{T} = 2x + 3y +4z = 0 [/tex] implies [tex] (2, 3, 4)^{T} [/tex] is orthogonal to every vector in the plane. Now I leave it to you to figure out how to shift the plane so that it goes through the specified point.
tiny-tim
Mar2-08, 01:56 AM
Sci Advisor
HW Helper
Thanks
P: 26,167
Quote Quote by starsiege View Post
how do i find the equation of a plane perpendicular to vector (2i+3j+4k) and passing though
the point (1,2,3)
Hi starsiege! Welcome to PF!

Hint: All lines in that plane will be perpendicular to that vector!

So draw the line through the origin, O, parallel to (2i+3j+4k).