Derivation of Escape Velocity Inconsistency

by Michael King
Tags: derivation, escape, inconsistency, velocity
Michael King
Jun8-08, 02:25 PM
P: 10
Hey, I'm a first year Astrophysics student, and in revising the Schwarzchild radius, I wanted to derive it and so I started by deriving the escape velocity from first principles, then rearrange to get the Schwarzchild Radius. Child's play, really.

However, depending from where you come from, either from energy or rotational motion, you end up being a factor of [tex]\sqrt{2}[/tex] out:

First Derivation, from Newtonian Mechanics

I am ignoring vector notation for speed

[tex]F = \frac{GMm}{r^{2}} = ma[/tex]

[tex]a = \frac{GM}{r^{2}}[/tex]

However,

[tex]a = \frac{v^{2}}{r}[/tex]

Therefore,

[tex]\frac{v^{2}}{r} = \frac{GM}{r^{2}}[/tex]

Rearranging for v gives

[tex]v = \sqrt{\frac{GM}{r}}[/tex]

Second Derivation, from Energy

We can assume that by units,

[tex]E = \frac{1}{2}mv^{2} = \frac{GMm}{r}[/tex]

[tex]E = \frac{1}{2}v^{2} = \frac{GM}{r}[/tex]

[tex]E = v^{2} = \frac{2GM}{r}[/tex]

[tex]v = \sqrt{\frac{2GM}{r}}[/tex]

Are my mathematics skills not up to scratch, or is it that for two equally valid derivations, we get two equally valid equations, that mean the same thing, but are not equal to one another?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
NASA's space station Robonaut finally getting legs
Free the seed: OSSI nurtures growing plants without patent barriers
Going nuts? Turkey looks to pistachios to heat new eco-city
Oberst Villa
Jun8-08, 02:45 PM
P: 145
I suspect that in your first derivation, you are not calculating the escape velocity, but instead the velocity needed to keep the test particle in circular orbit of radius r. The 3rd equation, thats the bad one:

[tex]a = \frac{v^{2}}{r}[/tex]

This is the centrifugal acceleration of a particle moving with speed v in a circular orbit of radius r - its not related to the escape velocity.