Relativity of rotating system(s)

by S.R.Wilton
Tags: relativity, rotating, systems
S.R.Wilton
Oct10-09, 10:28 PM
P: 2
I was just playing around with thoughts while laying in bed, and I need confirmation or rejection of a random idea that popped up in my head. I have a mild idea of relativity from various readings. I'm an undergraduate student studying engineering physics, so I have a decent background on Newtonian mechanics and basic quantum mechanical principles, but not so much of relativistic effects. I always thought of relativity and the speed of light in a strictly linear sense because it was straightforward (haha, pun intended >_<), but today was the first day I thought from a different perspective.

Do the atoms on the surface of earth decay slower relative to the atoms in the core of the earth due to the velocity difference?

If so, wouldn't that mean there is a "gradient of time" that exists on the planet? (i.e, aquatic animals on the bottom of the ocean age more quickly relative to animals on the surface of the planet; Other animals/matter move through time in between the speeds of everything on the outside of the planet and everything toward the center.)

If so, wouldn't that mean that our entire galaxy rotating about it's center has a space-time gradient in which all matter on the outside edge of the galaxy is aging slower relative to the matter on the inside of the galaxy toward the center?

If not, why not?

Maybe I'm just tired and not thinking clearly.