Register to reply

Lens design

by 0207
Tags: design, lens
Share this thread:
Oct20-09, 02:31 AM
P: 24
please suggest some good references for lens design.

i wish to start from scratch..
i am a complete amateur in this field.
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
First in-situ images of void collapse in explosives
The first supercomputer simulations of 'spin?orbit' forces between neutrons and protons in an atomic nucleus
Magnets for fusion energy: A revolutionary manufacturing method developed
Andy Resnick
Oct20-09, 07:37 AM
Sci Advisor
P: 5,510
You'll have to narrow down the topic a lot: are you *making* lenses? are you designing an optical system (and for what purpose)? Do you have access to design software (Zemax, etc.)?
Oct22-09, 02:21 AM
P: 24
I intend to work in the field of designing optical systems..
I do have access to OSLO and Zemax.. but I need to obtain a tutorial in that as well, although the manuals are a great help but I guess a training session is essential.
It'd b great if u could also suggest training courses for the same.

watertreader
Oct22-09, 06:28 AM
P: 23
Lens design

Guess you will also need some basic optical design books from Laikin, Kingslake

Also About Practical Computer-Aided Lens Design by Gregory Hallock Smith is almost a must if you are using Zemax
reasonableman
Oct22-09, 04:08 PM
P: 80
Hmm. I think it's very difficult to learn 'optical system design'. There are many different types of optical system, and you can probably spend a long time learning just one type.

To begin with you can get away with paraxial approximations. I'd suggest looking at some catalogues (Melles Griot, Thor Labs, Newport). These often have a bit of theory and also show the bits of kit that are usually available.