Register to reply

How do you convert Heat into stored Energy/Electricity?

by nukeman
Tags: convert, heat, stored
Share this thread:
nukeman
Dec5-10, 10:39 PM
P: 657
Hi everyone,

I am no expert in any means, so if what I am asking is silly, just tell me.

This is an example.

Lets say I have a stove top, and I turn it on full for an hour. Without putting anything on it, how can I harness the heat energy and store it, into lets say something like a battery, or anything I can use to power something.

The stove top is giving out some great heat for an hour. I am wondering if there is a way to harsness the heat energy the stove top is giving off, and storing it.

Does this make any sense?
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Mapping the optimal route between two quantum states
Spin-based electronics: New material successfully tested
Verifying the future of quantum computing
rock.freak667
Dec5-10, 10:46 PM
HW Helper
P: 6,204
Normally you'd need to convert that heat into mechanical motion which can convert that into electrical energy.

Like how a turbine is used to generate electricity. Other than that, I do not think there is any directly way to go from heat -> electricity.
brainstorm
Dec5-10, 10:51 PM
P: 1,117
Quote Quote by nukeman View Post
Hi everyone,

I am no expert in any means, so if what I am asking is silly, just tell me.

This is an example.

Lets say I have a stove top, and I turn it on full for an hour. Without putting anything on it, how can I harness the heat energy and store it, into lets say something like a battery, or anything I can use to power something.

The stove top is giving out some great heat for an hour. I am wondering if there is a way to harsness the heat energy the stove top is giving off, and storing it.

Does this make any sense?
You could heat water and put the water in insulated thermos bottles. Depending on what you want to use the energy for later on, you might want to choose different methods of storing it.

nukeman