Register to reply

General relativity and jet travel makes you fat?!

by pletharoe
Tags: makes, relativity, travel
Share this thread:
pletharoe
Apr4-11, 02:57 AM
P: 3
Hi everyone!
I'm a pilot on a private jet, in conversation one of the crew mentioned that "You get younger when flying." Now I had to correct him saying that actually it's just that time slows down as you go faster. Unfortunately for the flight attendant, going faster also means that she puts on weight! So here's a conundrum for you guys:

At 500 knots (257 m/s) how much slower does time pass (relative to when we're stationary and how much more does my 50kg flight attendant weigh?

Yes, I know it's a ridiculous question, but I'm intrigued. Thanks for any answers!
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
World's largest solar boat on Greek prehistoric mission
Google searches hold key to future market crashes
Mineral magic? Common mineral capable of making and breaking bonds
George Jones
Apr4-11, 03:50 AM
Mentor
P: 6,231
I think that your interested in effects due to special relativity. The appropriate factor is

[tex]\frac{1}{\sqrt{1 - \frac{v^2}{c^2}}},[/tex]

where c is the speed of light. In this case, it is

1.000 000 000 000 37

There is a altitude effect due to general relativity.
Drakkith
Apr4-11, 04:00 AM
Mentor
P: 11,565
From your frame of reference in the plane, you and your flight attendant have no increase in mass. When you slow down and land neither of you will have any more mass or wieght than you did when you first started.

russ_watters
Apr4-11, 05:52 AM
Mentor
P: 22,239
General relativity and jet travel makes you fat?!

I suppose you could relate the time dilation factor to the number of calories the flight attendant consumes/burns per year...
pletharoe
Apr4-11, 11:35 AM
P: 3
Hi Guys, thanks for the answers.
George: