Register to reply

How to teach 2~5 year-old kids talking?

by Saint
Tags: kids, talking, teach, yearold
Share this thread:
Saint
Nov30-04, 06:13 PM
P: 436
Any effective way to teach them to talk?
My children have difficulty in speech,
i need help. Seriously!
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
World's largest solar boat on Greek prehistoric mission
Google searches hold key to future market crashes
Mineral magic? Common mineral capable of making and breaking bonds
franznietzsche
Nov30-04, 06:19 PM
P: 1,783
Spend less time complaining about money and more time talking around them...
dekoi
Nov30-04, 06:24 PM
P: n/a
Quote Quote by franznietzsche
Spend less time complaining about money and more time talking around them...

Anyways, get them away from the television. Try to read to them, make them read (the five year old, if she/he can), and also try to communicate with them more often.

But i am no professional.

Moonbear
Nov30-04, 06:36 PM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 12,271
How to teach 2~5 year-old kids talking?

I don't know. Between 2 and 5, most parents are more concerned with how to make them stop talking, because it can be nonstop! Spending a lot of time with them, reading, pointing to things, telling them the name of everything they pass and point to then asking them to tell you what it is, that seems to be how they learn. Give them lots of reinforcement when they get words right...clap and praise them and smile and laugh. If they are having serious trouble, you may need to find a speech therapist to work with them, especially if the 5 yr old isn't talking yet. The 2 year old should be talking, but not in full sentences yet, and not understandable by everyone yet.

Some of the people here who are actually parents can probably help more.
Zeteg
Nov30-04, 06:45 PM
P: 71