Geodesic Derivation Question

In summary, the conversation is about a student studying for their math physics final and struggling with a step in a derivation involving the geodesic equation and variational calculus. They discuss the steps leading up to the confusion and the student asks for clarification on where a second derivative term comes from. The expert summarizer explains how the term is derived and mentions their experience with tensors.
Hypnotoad
I'm studying for my math physics final tomorrow and I'm going through a derivation done in our book, but I'm stuck on this one step. The derivation is of the geodesic equation using variational calculus (this is done in the Arfken and Weber book, on page 156 if you have it). Anyways, I follow the derivation up to this point:

[tex]\frac{1}{2}\int{(\frac{dq^i}{ds}\frac{dq^j}{ds}\partial{g_{ij}}{q^k}-\frac{d}{ds}(g_{ik}\frac{dq^i}{ds}+g_kj\frac{dq^j}{ds}))\delta q^kds}=0[/tex]

since there is an independant variation with the [tex]\delta q^k[/tex], the rest of the integral is zero:

[tex]\frac{1}{2}( \frac{dq^i}{ds} \frac{dq^j}{ds} \frac{\partial{g_{ij}}}{\partial{q^k}} - \frac{d}{ds} (g_{ik} \frac{dq^i}{ds} + g_kj \frac{dq^j}{ds}))=0[/tex]

He then goes on to expand the derivatives of g in the last term:

[tex]\frac{dg_{ik}}{ds}=\frac{\partial{g_{ik}}}{\partial{q^j}}\frac{dq^j}{ds}[/tex]

[tex]\frac{dg_{kj}}{ds}=\frac{\partial{g_{kj}}}{\partial{q^i}}\frac{dq^i}{ds}[/tex]

The next step is the one I don't understand. He gets:

[tex]\frac{1}{2} \frac{dq^i}{ds} \frac{dq^j}{ds} (\frac{\partial {g_{ij}}} {\partial {q^k}} - \frac{\partial {g_{ik}}}{\partial {q^j}} - \frac{\partial {g_{jk}}}{\partial {q^i}})-g_{ik} \frac{d^2q^i}{ds^2}=0[/tex]