Register to reply

Basic question from non-engineer about power cable specifications and safety

by yellowsprung
Tags: appliance, power cable, power supply
Share this thread:
yellowsprung
Feb17-12, 03:20 PM
P: 2
Let me start by stating up front that I am not an engineer, but as far as I could tell, this "outsider" question does not violate the forum rules. I searched (Google and this forum) for an answer, but couldn't find one, and was confident readers of this forum could probably help.

My boss's boss lost the power cable for his HP digital picture frame, and they came to me (I'm young = assumed savvy in all things tech) to see about getting a replacement. So I spent an hour on HP's site finding very little help at all, but what help I got---in the form of PDFs of the user manuals---did not actually specify much about the power cable.

All I know is that it shipped with an "AC adapter, 5V / 1A," but I cannot find anything about the part number, original manufacturer, etc. HP was totally unhelpful on the phone, but with additional Googling I found http://www.impactcomputers.com/ulb-050100.html and this product, which meets the specifications.

My question is: is it safe to use any (properly constructed) power cable with a device so long as those basic specifications (AC vs. DC, voltage, wattage, amperage, all that) match? Or are there many other factors that could cause my boss's boss's digital picture frame to catch fire (as I'm imagining) if I don't find the *exact cable* intended to be used with that exact model of digital picture frame?

I hope that question is clear and not too laughably simple for the experts! I happy to read either a full technical discussion or just the basic yes/no answer. THANKS!
Phys.Org News Partner Engineering news on Phys.org
Researchers discover cool-burning flames in space, could lead to better engines on earth (w/ Video)
Professors object to FAA restrictions on drone use
UConn makes 3-D copies of antique instrument parts