Classification of Three-Dimensional Forces/Vectors

by ynos
Tags: 3-d forces, 3-d vectors
ynos
Aug2-12, 10:29 PM
P: 6
Hi, I am an Engineering Student and my professor is insisting that we read about the different types and classifications of three-dimensional forces. I have been scouring the world wide web for more than 3 days now, even checked physics books but I can't find even one type or classification of 3-dimensional force/vector.

Can anyone please point me to the right direction?

TIA!
Phys.Org News Partner Physics news on Phys.org
Physicists design quantum switches which can be activated by single photons
'Dressed' laser aimed at clouds may be key to inducing rain, lightning
Higher-order nonlinear optical processes observed using the SACLA X-ray free-electron laser
dipole
Aug3-12, 12:24 AM
P: 418
The only classification that exists is the four fundamental forces: Gravity, Electromagnetism and the Strong/Weak interaction. In engineering you'll only ever encounter two of these, and even then you really just look at things in a classical view where forces are just kind of simplified abstractions.

The high school definition "a force is a push or a pull" will do fine for your needs I imagine. A more technical definition is a force is the gradient of any scalar potential field.
ynos
Aug3-12, 02:22 AM
Thanks Dipole for the reply.

I am just confused, is three-dimensional forces the same with three-dimensional vectors?Because, if I understand it correctly, force is a vector quantity.

Based on what you said, there are only four fundamental classification of forces, how about classifications and types of three-dimensional vectors?

Thanks again in advance!

voko
Aug3-12, 09:48 AM
Thanks
P: 5,526

Classification of Three-Dimensional Forces/Vectors

Vectors can be polar and axial. You can find details on the web.
ynos
Aug3-12, 10:05 AM