Register to reply

Best Book For Learning Basic Physics?

by Tyler133
Tags: basic, beginner, book, learn, physics
Share this thread:
Tyler133
Feb27-13, 03:36 PM
P: 21
I'm a freshman in High School who is, like most of you, interested in learning about physics. I am, however, fairly new to the topic and have been looking at some books to learn from such as: Physics I for dummies, Basic Physics : A Self-Teaching Guide, The Complete Idiot's Guide to Physics, etc. I want to know what the best book for someone who is new to physics would be. I don't have any knowledge of calculus and little of trigonometry. However, I believe that math is essential to learn physics and I want a guide that has math in it. I thank you for any suggestions.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
New type of solar concentrator desn't block the view
Researchers demonstrate ultra low-field nuclear magnetic resonance using Earth's magnetic field
Asian inventions dominate energy storage systems
mindheavy
Feb27-13, 05:11 PM
P: 61
If you want an introduction to physics that features math, any book with "Physics for Scientists and Engineers" in the title will be a treatment of physics based on calculus. Don't let that scare you, physics is naturally explained using the language of calculus, opposed to explaining it's concepts with purely algebra and trigonometry.

Not having any knowledge of calculus should not deter you from reading about physics, any of the intro books will have a chapter early on that explains the main idea's of the calculus used, namely the derivative and the integral. A few to get you started looking:

Serway & Jewett - Physics for Scientists and Engineers

Halliday Resnick Walker - Fundamentals of Physics

Openstax - College Physics - I don't think this is calculus based, but it is actually free.

Theres also the textbook forum, you can, at the bottom, filter the books by prefix (topic). In your case, try Intro Physics.