Unusual Auroral Activity

by CallMeSusan
Tags: activity, auroral, unusual
CallMeSusan
Jun12-13, 05:51 AM
P: 2
Hi,

I am a newbie trying out astronomy after two decades of politics, but I was hoping if someone could help translate the following statement for me (I am not a student, so your not answering an essay question or anything);

We report unusual auroral features observed by the DMSP-F6 satellite on January 10 and 11. These features include the shift of the most active region to the morning sector, the shift of the polar cap center toward the evening sector, a large number of sun-earth aligned arcs and the oval-shaped diffuse glow without bright oval arcs. The simultaneous magnetic field observations by the ISEE-3 and IMP-8 satellites, together with a simple magnetospheric modeling result, suggest that the unusual features result from both the unusually large BY and a large positive Bz component of the IMF.

The italic/bold section confuses me somewhat. The answer (the last sentence) doesn't really explain it.
Phys.Org News Partner Astronomy news on Phys.org
A star's early chemistry shapes life-friendly atmospheres
Unique pair of supermassive black holes in an ordinary galaxy discovered
Red stars and big bulges: How black holes shape galaxies
jim mcnamara
Jun12-13, 07:02 AM
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 1,355
Welcome to Physics Forums.

A page that explains the Interplanetary Magnetic field

http://www.spaceweatherlive.com/en/h...etic-field-imf

The aurora we see on earth is the result of "stuff" that is ejected from the sun interacting, way up high, with atoms in Earth's atmosphere. The atoms become excited and give off light. The "stuff" is made of charged particles. The particles, because they have a charge, are affected by Earth's magnetic field and the IMF.