Register to reply

What to eat to aid in red blood cell reproduction?

by wasteofo2
Tags: blood, cell, reproduction
Share this thread:
wasteofo2
May18-05, 07:22 PM
P: 1,522
I'm going to turn 17 soon, the legal age at which one can donate blood in my state, and I plan on donating blood soon thereafter. Being that I've never done it before, and I'm not tremendously active (thus don't have a particularly strong heart, thus figure that losing a relatively small amount of blood might make me operate very poorly), I figured that along with trying to exercise a bit more than usual in the intervening time, I should figure out a meal plan that will help me in the reproduction of red blood cells. I know to drink lots of fluids after the procedure, and I assume that animal protein in general will help, but are there any special substances that I should make a concious effort to eat, like vitamins which are used in the production of red blood cells but aren't actually found in the cells?

Thanks alot,
Jacob
Phys.Org News Partner Biology news on Phys.org
Scientists discover RNA modifications in some unexpected places
Scientists discover tropical tree microbiome in Panama
Collaboration drives achievement in protein structure research
brewnog
May18-05, 07:44 PM
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 2,793
Giving blood? Good for you.

Get eating your liver, (not your own liver, obviously). Blood donation is a good excuse to drink lots of Guinness, although you shouldn't really drink alcohol for a while before donation. Have a good meal and drink lots of fluids before you go. They take less than a pint of blood, you probably won't notice the difference unless you smoke or drink alcohol afterwards, in which case the effects can be, urm, stronger than usual. When they offer you free biscuits, have them all, - they're free!
adrenaline
May18-05, 07:56 PM
Sci Advisor
P: 274