Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Color Kinematics Duality and Asymptotic Safety

1. Jun 28, 2015 #1
    So, you'll have to forgive me, but I am an engineer, not a physicist, but I take an interest in quantum gravity. My understanding is primarily conceptual, not mathematical. So if my question is dumb, I apologize. Ok, here goes:

I'm aware of Zwi Bern's conjectured color-kinematics duality where the color factors of the scattering matrix of a Yang Mills theory are replaced with "kinematic factors," by which one obtains an equivalent SUGRA theory. This procedure can be performed to draw an equivalence between Yang Millks and non-SUGRA Einstein gravity (N=0) with an axion and a dilaton, which are regarded as unphysical and are cancelled via ghost fields. A nice slideshow is available here showing the rough outline of the procedure:
    http://media.scgp.stonybrook.edu/presentations/20131210_Johansson.pdf

If this procedure holds water, would it not imply that Einstein gravity when quantized is equivalent to a Yang Mills theory, and therefore asymptotically free? That is, it would possess a gaussian fixed point where the cosmological constant and Newton's constant go to zero?

This reminded me a little of the Asymptotic Safety scenario where there is both a Gaussian and non-Gaussian fixed point along a certain RG trajectory for Quantum Einstein Gravity.
    http://iopscience.iop.org/1367-2630/focus/Focus on Quantum Einstein Gravity
    Look at the Type IIa trajectory in the diagram that passes through the origin.

So what I'm thinking is that it seems that in both cases (i.e. Color/Kinematics and Asymsafe) there exists a Gaussian Fixed Point. This result is derived using two fundamentally different methods.