Connecting with Fellow Cosmology Enthusiasts in Brisbane

• Thread starter Teleah
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Cosmology
In summary, the person is a law and business student interested in cosmology and seeking advice on how to connect with like-minded individuals. Suggestions include joining amateur astronomy societies, checking the Astronomical Society of Australia website, and looking for clubs and societies on campus. They are also advised to be cautious when reading information on forums.
Teleah
Hi!

I'm a law and business student in Brisbane, Australia and have recently developed a keen interest in cosmology, physics and all the rest of it! I am sorry to not pose an intellectual question of the calibre of the other "newbie" :) but I am feeling somewhat disconnected from my peers at university who don't seem to share my enthusiasm for this breathtaking topic and was wondering if any of you other enthusiasts had any advice as to how I should go about meeting or forming a group of like minded people in my area?

Thanks

Space news on Phys.org
You can usually find amateur astronomy societies in most places, I'm sure there would be at least a few in Brisbane. They may be focused a little more on the practical side of making observations with their backyard telescopes than cosmology per se, but I've no doubt that there would be at least some members with similar interests to you. Given that this is the international year of astronomy, it should be easier than normal to find such groups, hopefully someone can give you a reference. You could try seeing if there are any links from the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) website.

Hmm, I just found this site http://www.bas.asn.au/ of the Brisbane astronomical society. That might be a good place to start?

There may well be some clubs and societies on campus that might have an astronomy focus as well?