Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Does a magnetic field accompany Jupiter's Great Red Spot?

1. Apr 21, 2016 #1
    If yes, could you please give me a reference documentation?

I am an astrophysical amateur. We have published a paper on the frozen-in field lines concept (http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0136936), and are trying to explain the origin of the magnetic field of the sunspots using our new theory. We hope that the magnetic field of Jupiter's Great Red Spot can be used to verify our point of view.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 25, 2016 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2016
  4. Apr 25, 2016 #3
    I don't think the Spot is magnetic. It is pretty much the same as an Earth storm. Sunspots occur when plasma tubes pass through the surface of the Sun. To me they seem quite different.

5. Apr 25, 2016 #4
    Except it seems to be a high pressure system, (anticyclonic), whereas storms on Earth are cyclones.
    What it does share with anticyclones on Earth is that it's quite stable and durable.

6. Apr 25, 2016 #5
    Yeah, but as far as magnetism goes it doesn't matter. It's still a vortex of neutral material.

7. Apr 25, 2016 #6
    Sure, nothing suggests it has anything to do with a magnetic field.

8. Apr 26, 2016 #7
    I have a book (1016 pages) named Evolution of the Earth. It is an academic book on geophysics and published in 1996.

In this book, the origin of magnetic field of the Earth and planets was discussed. On the magnetic field of the great red spot, the author wrote only one sentence: "It has been known that the great red spot is a huge vortex and accompanied by a very strong magnetic field."

I hope get more reference on this problem, but the contact to the author has been fruitless.

I hope someone here can recognizethis opinion.

9. Apr 27, 2016 #8
  10. Apr 27, 2016 #9