Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Graduate Physics student not sure what he's doing

1. Mar 22, 2015 #1
    Hello everyone,

I'm a graduate student in Physics who is a little unsure of where he is and where he wants to be.

I've somehow managed to end up with a position as a Research Assistant in Physics. I'm still not quite sure how this ever happened; I mean, I doubt more than two or three people on campus even knew my name until a year ago (as that kind of requires me to, you know, communicate). Not to mention the fact that actually choosing a professor to do research with required me to, gasp of all gasps, make a decision...

But... well, it's hard to describe. I don't know if it's the field of Physics in general, or if perhaps it's just the attitude of the campus I'm at (the school is very research-oriented), but I feel that the further I get into physics, the less it means to me.

I'm a very abstract thinker, and quantum mechanics is pretty much the only topic in physics that still holds my interest lately, as it still manages to challenge my intuition on select occasions. In contrast, I have no intuition for those terrifying surface/volume integrals that regularly appear in electrostatics. Nor can I say much about the, erm, "specific heat of a Debye solid", other than the fact that I'm sure I probably had to write a Taylor approximation for it at some point.

Most frustratingly, even my research is still missing that passion. I was hoping I'd have struck conceptual gold by now and that I'd be totally engrossed in solving some problem related to it, but... I'm not.