Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is equation of line or curve in 3 space have to be a parametric equation?

1. Aug 3, 2010 #1
    I have been confused about this. When come to equation of lines and curves in even 2 space, they automatically go parametric equation x(t), y(t) etc. I just want to verify my understanding:

For 3 space, equation using x, y and z will automatically produce a plane or a surface. In order to produce a line or curve, they have not choice but to represent x, y and z in form of x(t), y(t) and z(t) so it become line or curve.

Therefore a linear line or a curve HAS to be represented by a parametric equation.

Am I correct?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2010 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

The set of solutions of these two equation defines a curve in R3:
    x2 + y2 = 1
    z = 2

4. Aug 3, 2010 #3
    In the calculus books I studied include Sherman Stein and Howard Anton. They only represent lines and curves in 3 space with parametric equation. Also in the chapter of vector value function. All the books I have immediately go to parametric equations.

5. Aug 3, 2010 #4

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

My point is that curves in space don't have to be represented by parametric equations.

6. Aug 3, 2010 #5
    Thanks.
    Alan

7. Aug 4, 2010 #6

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Curves are one dimensional. That means that every point can, theoretically, be determined by using a single number. If you write a curve in terms of parametric equations, then that single number, the parameter, is apparent.