Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lack of Relativistic Consideration

1. Oct 30, 2009 #1
    This may be a basic question; I'm not sure because I'm just getting into quantum theory. As I understand it, the electron orbits somewhere around the order of n x 10^6 (based on calculations I've seen). Moreover, the wave model of the electron suggests that it moves at velocity c. From this, I draw the conclusion that relativistic effects should apply since the electron is moving at a velocity close to c (I consider n x 10^6 to be "close"; perhaps this is part of my flaw), or at c. Obviously there's something wrong with this conclusion, but I'm not sure what it is.

I guess a simplified version of what I'm asking is: why don't relativistic effects affect the orbit of the electron in quantum theory. I have a suspicion it has to do with the uncertainty principle, but I really have no clue. I apologize if there are recent threads on this, but I couldn't go through all of them to make sure. Does anyone have a relatively simple answer (I know this isn't a simple matter), or does anyone have any links to some basic explanations of this?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2009 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

If that's in meters/sec, it's only on the order of 1% of c. Try calculating (for example) the relativistic time dilation factor for that speed.

Relativistic effects do show up in atomic spectra, but only at fairly high precision. They help produce what is called "fine structure" in the energy levels and spectra.

4. Oct 30, 2009 #3

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Short answer - they do. Relativistic effects do influence atomic energy levels.

For hydrogen, though, the effect is small: v = c/137, but v2 is the figure of merit, and (v/c)2 is about 5 x 10-5. You need to get to middleweight-to-heavy nuclei befoe the effect is large.