Measuring airflow w/handheld anemometer

In summary, a building contractor is searching for a way to measure the airflow (in CFM) of typical vent fans in homes. The tool available at the moment is an item from Extech. However, the contractor is concerned about the accuracy of the reading due to the shape of the inlet and the difficulty of placing the vane directly within it. While researching, the contractor found that flow hoods are uncommon and expensive. They are seeking advice on how to get a reasonably accurate reading of airflow, taking into consideration the impact of ductwork on actual flow. A balancing contractor suggests measuring at the end of a long, straight section of duct or at the outlet on the roof, as it is common for residential ductwork to be undersized
David Meiland
I'm a building contractor looking for a way to measure the airflow (in CFM) of the vent fans that are typical in homes. The usual suspect is in the range of 80-150 CFM, has a squirrelcage fan installed in a metal housing that's installed in the ceiling, and a 3" or 4" round outlet that ducted to the exterior (hopefully) with either rigid metal pipe or some sort of flexible pipe. The tool I have available at the moment is this item: http://www.extech.com/instruments/product.asp?catid=1&prodid=2

My hunch is that the specific spot in which the vane is held will have a big effect on the accuracy of the reading. Some fans (when the ceiling grille is removed) have a nice round inlet, but more often than not it's a more complex shape. In addition, it's often not possible to hold the vane directly within the shape, but rather right in front of it.

While googling around I've noticed a few manufacturers of flow hoods, but these seem to be both uncommon for HVAC diagnosis, and very expensive.