Motivating high school Physics students with Popcorn Physics

• Thread starter BRUCE A RATCLIFFE
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation revolved around the topic of teaching physics and keeping students engaged and interested. The speaker shared their experience of using project-based learning and gave an example of a lesson involving popcorn. They also discussed a problem involving two people eating popcorn together and shared different approaches to solving it.
BRUCE A RATCLIFFE
How did you find PF?: Quiet Desparation prompted me to search for "Electronic forums"

I've been teaching physics for forty five years (quadruple alliteration : ) Though I would dearly love to teach a rigorous, math-based course, if I did so, my clientele would be lost, bored and gone. My students taking Calculus are oft times stopped cold by 1/2 X 1/3 = ?

My solution? ACTION! Projects where students are cooperating, building, testing, deploying and analyzing some project seems just the thing to keep students eager to come to class. (see Egg Drop preparation: ). These sorts of "lessons" last a lifetime:

Popcorn Physics? It was an accident that we spent two months on. Turns out a whole lot of physics was involved, but it started out with a microwave popcorn thief:

[Personal information removed]
45 years into it, and hoping for 20 more!

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes Math100, Charles Link and vanhees71
Science news on Phys.org
The problem I like to give non-physics students involving popcorn is: If Bob can eat a bag of popcorn in twenty minutes, and Mary can eat a bag in thirty minutes, how long does it take Bob and Mary to eat one bag when they both eat it together?

Many do not get this one correct, but most understand the solution when I tell it to them.

When they get stuck, sometimes I will give them the hint of how many bags can they eat in an hour?

Last edited:
Likes MatinSAR, vanhees71 and berkeman
Charles Link said: