Neat Feature -- click/drag/quote

• Thread starter berkeman
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses a feature where users can easily quote and reply to specific parts of a post by clicking and dragging the desired text. This feature also works with multi-quoting and makes the process much simpler. However, there may be some issues with formatting, particularly with equations and special characters.
berkeman
Mentor
Maybe others have known about this feature for a while, but I just discovered it. If you want to just quote part of a post, you can click drag the text you want to copy, and a little "Quote+" box pops up next to the highlighted text! Pretty neat! :)

Likes Greg Bernhardt
Physics news on Phys.org
berkeman said:
you can click drag the text you want to copy
Or just highlight and "Reply". I'm still learning too. Many neat features.

?temp_hash=a81f7fcbf106c6ba4ef42007a511ff0d.jpg

Attachments

• click and drag.jpg
    click and drag.jpg
    17.3 KB · Views: 382
Likes Greg Bernhardt
Yeah one of my favorite features. I remember the old days where you had to sometimes quote a massive chunk of text and then manually in the editor crop it out.

btw, it also works with multiquote. So you can-select-to-quote many things and then insert them into the editor at the end.

Likes berkeman
Oh, wow! This is going to make my life so much simpler. I've been doing the quote/delete operation all along.

Greg Bernhardt said:
So you can-select-to-quote many things and then insert them into the editor at the end.

Or you can select-to-reply to several things, one by one, and they each get added to the editor as you go along. No need to "Insert Quotes" at the end.

The trouble is, if you have any latex in your click-drag selection it messes it up.

Testing...

[tex]i(t) = C \frac{dv(t)}{dt}[/tex]

berkeman said:
Testing...

i(t)=Cdv(t)dt

Testing... Hmm, even for simple stuff, some of the formatting is lost.