New here I don't know if there's a special place for this

• Thread starter blade123
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation is about a new member, blade, being welcomed into a forum for discussing physics. Blade shares that they have a passion for physics since childhood, influenced by their father who was knowledgeable about RF and electronics. They also mention getting their ham license at a young age and their interest in math. Overall, blade feels more accomplished studying physics compared to math. Other members welcome blade and ask about their preferences for fish.
blade123
Hey, uhh I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm just a lowly undergrad Freshman studying physics. I grew up around it, my dad was real into ham radios and knew a lot about RF and electronics and all that jazz. He introduced me to radios and electronics (as well as constantly showing me videos about the big bang and black holes and all the cool stuff I want to study...he introduced me to Carl Sagan). I loved that stuff, and constantly thought about it as a kid. I got my ham license at age 9. As I got into my teenage years, I kind of got away from that stuff, but I had a fantastic math teacher junior year who got me into math, but I think physics is just applied math so I'm going down that path. I feel more accomplished when I do physics...it's much more realistic than "find x".

I don't know if this is the section to post this kinda thing, but hi!

Physics news on Phys.org
Yep, this is the right place! Welcome to PF, blade, I hope you like it here :smile:!

Hi blade I'm new also like you.

Welcome blade, this is an awesome place. I know you will love it here :)

Welcome! PM me if you have any questions or concerns.

Welcome, blade! What kind of fish do you like? o:)

Wow-thanks for the kind words!

jtbell said:
Welcome, blade! What kind of fish do you like? o:)

I'm not a huge fan of fish, but if they're deepfried they're awesome. :3

What is the purpose of this "New here" page?