Why does time stop in the event horizon of a blackhole?

In summary: If the clocks on both sides of the experiment are synchronized, then the light from the "upstairs" clocks will be shifted to the "downstairs" clocks by the gravitational time dilation. From that experiment, you can measure the amount of redshift and calculate the strength of the gravitational field.
Manraj singh
Why does time stop in the event horizon of a black hole? Or at least slow down, from what i know.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
It depends on the reference frame. Something falling in experiences no effect on time. However a distant observer would see the object as slowing down and never quite falling in.

The explnation is in the equations of General Relativity. (I am no expert).

leonard susskind describes it pretty good on youtube classic mechanics lectures from stanford university really learned a lot from his lecture heavy into math if you ask me but he says it elementary math

Mr Marcus, the link given by you helped a lot. Please correct me if I am wrong: time does not actually decrease, but it appears to be slowed down due to red shift or blue shift.Sent from my iPad using Physics Forums

Manraj singh said:
Mr Marcus, the link given by you helped a lot. Please correct me if I am wrong: time does not actually decrease, but it appears to be slowed down due to red shift or blue shift.Sent from my iPad using Physics Forums

Time dilation really does occur, it's not just a result of red shift.

Manraj singh said:
Mr Marcus, the link given by you helped a lot. Please correct me if I am wrong: time does not actually decrease, but it appears to be slowed down due to red shift or blue shift.

I think people can have different perspectives on appearance vs. reality, Manraj.

Personally I consider gravitational time dilation to be absolutely real! And I consider it to be the same phenomenon as gravitational redshift.