Register to reply

How do aircraft fly upside down?

by paddy-boy66
Tags: aircraft, upside
Share this thread:
paddy-boy66
Sep1-06, 04:12 AM
P: 10
Can anybody tell me how aircraft fly up side down? I'm an under grad aero student and cant see how aircraft do. Can any aircraft theoretically fly up side down?
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
New model helps explain how provisions promote or reduce wildlife disease
Stress can make hard-working mongooses less likely to help in the future
Grammatical habits in written English reveal linguistic features of non-native speakers' languages
J77
Sep1-06, 05:05 AM
P: 1,157
Quote Quote by paddy-boy66
Can anybody tell me how aircraft fly up side down? I'm an under grad aero student and cant see how aircraft do. Can any aircraft theoretically fly up side down?
You just need to adjust the angle of attack (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Angle_of_attack)
LURCH
Sep1-06, 06:22 AM
Sci Advisor
P: 2,510
Aerodynamically, yes, any aircraft can fly upside down, but for most ut is very innefficient. Also, some have structural limitations that won't take the strain, and many have engine limitations that will stop the flow of fuel.

paddy-boy66
Sep1-06, 07:47 AM
How do aircraft fly upside down?

but doesn't the resultant lift always act in one direction relative to the "upper" surface so if its upside down wont the "lift" be downwards? Am i being stupid in saying this?
J77
Sep1-06, 07:55 AM
P: 1,157
Angle of attack's like sticking your hand out of the car window - if you tilt your hand, you feel the force upwards or downwards - same for a plane.
Gokul43201
Sep1-06, 08:02 AM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 11,155
but doesn't the resultant lift always act in one direction relative to the "upper" surface so if its upside down wont the "lift" be downwards? Am i being stupid in saying this?