Microscope for individual cells/bacteria?

• Thread starter Scott.K
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Microscope
In summary: Oh, the Amscopes. I've never used those, but here are my concerns:1) The illumination source is adequate, but cannot be aligned. 2) The sample stage (focus) is fairly coarse- making it difficult to keep the sample in focus, especially for high NA lenses. 3) The objective lenses are DIN lenses, but most likely inferior quality- they are spec'd as achromats. Fortunately, you can buy used Zeiss DIN lenses cheap, and those should work much better than whatever comes with the scope. That said, decent quality lenses will outperform the focus drive.4) The higher magnification present on the eyepiece
Scott.K
On a whim, I started looking at microscopes on ebay today. I don't really know anything about them though. I'm an amateur astronomer, so I know all about telescopes, but in microscopes, I wouldn't know what to begin to look for.

I found this one that's just under $300. It says it will go from 40x - 2000x magnification.

Is it a rip off? It worried me because there are like a hundred adds for the exact same scope, so it's obviously mass produced. If I got something like that, could I see individual cells or bacteria?

If it is a rip off, any recommendations on something better?

Thanks.

Biology news on Phys.org
Hi Scott.K, welcome to PF. Live cells are transparent, so it's quite difficult to see them with a simple microscope. You probably want a http://www.google.com/images?q=phase contrast cells" microscope, which includes slightly more complicated optics. Make sure you let the vendor know that you want to observe cells, so they can steer you towards the right scope.

Last edited by a moderator: