Register to reply

How do I find the age of a star?

by ageorge95
Tags: star
Share this thread:
ageorge95
Feb16-12, 03:51 AM
P: 19
I'm a yr 12 student doing a full year research assignment and i have decided to find the age of the star, Sirius. I have access to a pretty good telescope and equipment but I am not sure where to start. Suggestions anyone?
Phys.Org News Partner Astronomy news on Phys.org
Mixing in star-forming clouds explains why sibling stars look alike
Thermonuclear X-ray bursts on neutron stars set speed record
How can we find tiny particles in exoplanet atmospheres?
Drakkith
Feb16-12, 04:58 AM
Mentor
P: 11,889
This is generally not possible with individual stars. See here for more.
http://www.scientificamerican.com/ar...ntists-determi
Cosmo Novice
Feb16-12, 06:21 AM
P: 366
Quote Quote by ageorge95 View Post
I'm a yr 12 student doing a full year research assignment and i have decided to find the age of the star, Sirius. I have access to a pretty good telescope and equipment but I am not sure where to start. Suggestions anyone?
As Drakkith has advised this is generally not possible with individual stars, what you could do however is start your assignment on the pretence of finding the age of the star. Then outline the reasons this is not going to be particularly accurate as your main body of work - would still be a good assignment.

Cosmo

e^(i Pi)+1=0
Feb16-12, 12:30 PM
P: 235
How do I find the age of a star?

Couldn't you get a good approximation by its spectra? The more heavy elements, the older the star.
ageorge95
Feb16-12, 12:59 PM
Quote Quote by e^(i Pi)+1=0 View Post
Couldn't you get a good approximation by its spectra? The more heavy elements, the older the star.
I was hoping to do just that and use the Hertzsprung-Russell diagram which requires the luminosity and colour of a star to determine the age of the star. How would I do get this information using a telescope?
ageorge95
Feb16-12, 01:03 PM