SUmmer Research Opportunities/Science Programs

by Simfish
Tags: programs, research, summer
Simfish
Jan20-05, 07:59 PM
PF Gold
P: 828
Hi,

I'm a sophomore who already goes to Collegeconfidential (and to the CTY website_; but I'd still like to know if any of you know of any research opportunities/summer programs for HS sophomores. I'm going to apply to SUmmer Science Program and NASA SHARP - any other suggestions? I'm an Asian male, btw.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
NASA's space station Robonaut finally getting legs
Free the seed: OSSI nurtures growing plants without patent barriers
Going nuts? Turkey looks to pistachios to heat new eco-city
MathStudent
Jan20-05, 10:26 PM
P: 281
Quote Quote by Simfishy
I'm an Asian male, btw.
Just curious... how does this relate to your post?
Moonbear
Jan20-05, 10:40 PM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
P: 12,257
Quote Quote by MathStudent
Just curious... how does this relate to your post?
It means he isn't eligible to apply for programs geared toward minorities and women.

Simfishy, are you specifically interested in physics opportunities, or any science research opportunity?

Simfish
Jan21-05, 12:26 AM
PF Gold
P: 828

SUmmer Research Opportunities/Science Programs

ANy science research opportunity - unfortunately, due to the fact that sophomores cannot take a physics class, I am only taking a chemistry class at the current moment. But I'm also taking calculus - which can be a HUGE boost - since few sophs take calc..
Moonbear
Jan21-05, 01:03 AM
Emeritus
Sci Advisor
PF Gold
Have you contacted universities near you? Try their websites. Many universities offer summer research opportunities for high school students, but they aren't always broadly advertised.
alex caps
Jan24-05, 11:16 PM
P: 89
I think you have to already be a junior to be eligible for nasasharp..
Andromeda321
Jan25-05, 08:30 PM
P: 153
Astronomy Camp
Summer Science Program