1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs A bit depressed searching PhD opportunities

1. Jan 15, 2013 #1
    Hi All,

Maybe my first post is a bit sad/depressive, but I need some advice.

I have finished recently my MSc. degree in Space Technology & Space Sciences. I have a BSc. in Physics as well and I'm considering to do a PhD. with a challenging topic.

However, I'm unlucky. Since last december, I've been rejected from about 20 universities.

Maybe is my age (I'm 35), but when I speak at the interviews, I'm tired to say I started my undergraduate courses at 24 (before I was working and doing my militar service). Maybe is because I spent nearly 10 years to pursue my BSc in Physics (with a GPA of 3.11) but nobody see or knows I was working at the same time and doing research by my own (traduced on a successful parabolic flight for the european space agency and with several scholarships or grants in some departments of my faculty). Maybe is because my records on my MSc were not so high, but I haven't told to any interviewer I was diagnosed with Leukemia and during my treatment I had to study, and was a bit hard…

I'm feel I'm hungry of new problems. I really enjoy with physics and engineering, I don't feel I'm "old" to start a PhD, but I started to be a bit tired.

Any advice fellows?
    Regards!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 15, 2013 #2

G01

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

You are not too old to start a PhD, but your GPA, without knowing any background about your educational history low enough to hinder you in the admissions process.

You should consider using part of your personal statement in the applications to explain your unique circumstances, if you are not doing so.

4. Jan 15, 2013 #3