Accelerated Expansion of Space question

In summary: We have never seen anything that corresponds to this theoretical “nothing”, so we can assume it doesn’t exist. It’s just a concept that we use to try and make sense of the strange phenomena we see happening in front of our eyes. In summary, the universe is expanding because of the vacuum pressure and the desire for uniformity. Matter is pulled into the emptiness by the universal laws of uniformity. The "edge" of expanding space is where the universe ends and nothing exists.
Westernnate
I am in a heated debate about the laws of physics with someone who's sole answer to all of my statements has been "because god made it that way". Rather than get into that debate, I was wondering if folks could look over my hypothesis about why the universe is accelerating and point out the known issues with it.

I wrote it in a very simple language to this person who has no understanding of physics. I have no professional background in physics, and I know that my understandings are extremely simplified and probably wrong, but are my basic concepts possible explanations? Thanks for the help.

The expansion of the universe is supposedly a mystery. People can’t seem to figure out why space continues to expand rather than slowing its expansion and eventually collapsing back into itself. By looking at biology and simple physics, couldn’t it be assumed that the universe is expanding due to vacuum pressure and the desire for order and even distribution? If this concept doesn’t make sense, look at a biological cell.