Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice for first time studying Quantum Mechanics ?

1. Oct 20, 2014 #1
    I am studying my first -and only, undergrad speaking- Quantum Mechanics course this term in a Nuclear Engineering Department.

What would be your advice for some one who is first studying quantum mechanics?

I am asking about any advice that would come to your mind when you read the question: how to study, how to think, things I should note that may be intuitively hard to comprehend, expected problems..etc.

Note: Our syllabus started directly by a very short reminder of black body radiation, photoelectric effect & Compton scattering, then we headed to the postulates of the Quantum Theory, and then Schrodinger Equation and solving an infinite well problem! (all that in the first three lectures), then we are expected to do more application on Schrodinger's Equation, and then we will spend some time on Angular Momentum and eventually the Scattering theory.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2014 #2

e.bar.goum

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

The most useful interpretation of quantum mechanics to date has been "shut up and calculate".

I think it's pretty sound advice for learning quantum mechanics too. The best way to learn quantum mechanics is to churn through the maths. And I guess to trust in what the mathematics tells you about the solution to whatever problem you're working on. (Provided that you've done the maths right in the first place, I guess).

4. Oct 21, 2014 #3
    Trust the mathematics! QM is full of stuff like entaglement and uncertanty that we don't find in classical mechanics so don't stop on the counter intuitiv, just go with the mathematics and you woon't get lost. Sorry seams like a repeated post.

5. Oct 21, 2014 #4

atyy

Science Advisor